The best years of my life?

22 08 2011

Ok, it has most definitely been a while since I had a chance to write.  I don’t know I’ve had a lot to say, but I got lazy, and didn’t feel like posting something new.

On that note, school has officially begun ( JUNIOR YEAR WHOOO HOOO), and I mean I can’t really complain. It’s a little weird because both my older sisters are graduated, one is in college, the other on an army base in Texas, so I’m the oldest at home now.  Before I always had my sisters here to drive me and pick me up, and they would be home before I was and now it’s just me, and my little sister.

I’m the one who has to drive now ( I hate driving), I’m the first one home, I’m in charge now, so-to-speak. It’s just different, so I have to adjust to that.  So this year, I have every AP class as a Junior, and 3 honors classes. My schedule is no fun.  I tend to stress out over things, whether it be school or sports I get anxious about it, to say the least.  But I tend to do my best, when the pressure is on, it’s like the more pressure I have; the more I freak out and the better I do, and when it’s over I just breathe, and it feels like I’ve been holding my breath it feels so good to let it out.

Anyways, I feel like I’m rambling a bit, but the thing that I wanted to get to was the fact that High School is quite literally, “The best of times, and the worst of times”. It can either be this great experience with friends, and activities, and freedom, or it can be a place that makes you uncomfortable, and you dread getting up every morning to walk through the God-forsaken hallways with people you don’t like, and people who don’t like you.  For me, it has never been to the point where I would hate going to school, but sometimes I just do not get the point of going to school.  I mean you have to get an education, that’s not the problem, my problem is getting up everyday and going to a place that feels like a black hole that sucks the life out of anyone, and anything that comes within striking distance.

There is so much more to life than just High School. So why do we put so much time and energy, not in our education, but in being popular and being liked. Why does it matter if you were Homecoming Queen? Sure you were captain of the Football team, and had the head Cheerleader as your girlfriend. (So cliché, I know).  But that is all people seem to care about, and I can’t stand it.  I got to the point where I just wanted to avoid contact with everyone in general, go through my classes, go home and be done with it.  I mean it’s 4 years of our lives, that we invest so much time in, but in the end does it really matter?

 

People often look back on their High School career and regret that they spent so much time, trying to fit in instead of actually going to school to learn.  I don’t get why people go to school to mess around. Don’t get me wrong I’m not as uptight as I seem.  I know how to have fun and play around, but I also understand that there are certain times where you have to be serious.  I know so many people who have dropped out, or have gotten pregnant and hardly show up (lets not sugar coat things, teen pregnancy happens everywhere), I am not heartless, and I know that things happen, but this is exactly why it bothers me so much.  Because my heart hurts for the people who sell themselves short, and for the ones who almost make it, but don’t quite finish the race.

I can’t be the only one who sees the bigger picture, no one is going to remember (if they do, no one is going to care) that you were the most popular kid in school. Good, be the most popular kid in school, but why can’t you be the most popular kid in school who ended up going to college and finding the cure for cancer.  I mean people call us the “Lost Generation”, and walking around school it breaks my heart, but sometimes I can’t help but think “Oh my gosh, they’re right.” They can’t be right, they won’t be right.  We have to prove them wrong, I know in my heart that these people I see everyday have the ability to change the world, I see it. All we have to do is open our eyes, and see it too. We are a brand new generation.

“I am only one, but I am one.  I cannot do everything, but I can do something.  And I will not let what I cannot do interfere with what I can do.”- Edward Everett Hale

-Naomi

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

